Skip to Content
Home Campus Life News Los Rios Students Recently Honored with Scholarships from Phi Theta Kappa

Los Rios Students Recently Honored with Scholarships from Phi Theta Kappa

September 3, 2020

Three Los Rios Community College District students were recently honored with scholarships from Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for community colleges.

Elijah Silas, from American River College, and Phillip Harris, from Sacramento City College, have been selected as 2020 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars and will receive $1,000 scholarships. The Leaders of Promise Scholarship, sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, recognizes 200 Phi Theta Kappa members with awards totaling $200,000. This year's recipients were selected by a panel of independent judges from nearly 700 applicants. Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars are selected based on outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership potential.

The Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program was launched in 2001 to assist new Phi Theta Kappa members in obtaining an associate degree and encourage participation in Society programs.

American River College's Essemone Konan was one of only 35 students selected nationally to receive Phi Theta Kappa's Spring 2020 Walgreens Pharmacy Technician Certification Scholarship. As a Walgreens Pharmacy Technician Certification Scholar, Essemone will receive a $130 scholarship award to pay for Pharmacy Technician Certification exam fees.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation's colleges. Learn more at

Related Links

Phi Theta Kappa