Clarification on test deletion/removal
To clarify for faculty Blackboard users, the ability to remove a test/quiz from the test manager has been disabled. This is one of the processes that causes poor system performance.
What instructors CAN do is:
- Remove (un-deploy) the test from a content area and the gradebook. This would be accomplished by going into the content area where the test link exists. Click “Remove” button on the right portion of the screen, and a dialog box will open, telling you “This action is final and cannot be undone. Remove this item?” Click “OK”, and a new screen will appear with the following options:
Warning: Removing this content item will also remove all attempts for this Test. Retain the Gradebook item and scores for this Test by choosing Preserve scores below. These scores will no longer link to the Test attempts that produced the scores. This action cannot be undone. If the Test attempts should not be removed, hit Cancel below and make this content item unavailable rather than removing it.
1 - Preserve scores in the Gradebook for this Test, but all attempts for this Test will be removed.
2 - Remove this content item, the Gradebook item for this Test, all grades for this Test, and all attempts for this Test.
Selecting the second option will remove the test link from the content area AND remove the test column from the gradebook, along with any scores that may have been recorded. This is generally the best option for most situations.
CAUTION: The test will NOT be removed from the test manager, though it has been un-deployed (students cannot access it and it does not show up in the gradebook). To ease confusion over different test versions in the Test Manager, it is recommended that instructors modify the test name in a descriptive manner for tests that will no longer be used (from the Test Manager, click Modify, then Modify again in the grey test header box).